Beating the drum

The Eumundi School of Rock is back with another line-up of 20 budding musicians ready to wow the crowds with their unique rock and roll sound.

by @joleneogle on Friday, 08 Sep, 2017

The latest round of talented School of Rock musicians have been announced with the group set to light up the local music scene.

Launched by multi award-winning local songstress Katie Noonan last year, the program offers budding musicians the chance to perform on stage alongside professional musicians after months of auditions, training, mentoring and performing.

This year, 20 budding musicians across a range of musical disciplines from bass to keys and guitar have made the cut and will now begin weekly training and mentoring sessions led by Katie and School of Rock teachers including Band of Frequencies band members, National Jazz award-winning saxophonist Zac Hurren and new vocal coach Clint Francis from Thump.

School of Rock founder Katie says the program is a great chance for kids to increase their musical training.

“From last year, we have seen incredible outcomes for students including self-esteem, stagecraft, musicianship and teamwork – all in a fun and supportive environment,” she says.

School of Rock 2016 graduate and North Arm State Primary School student Matilda Malone, 10, said the program was a great way to learn that music is all about making people happy.

“When I’m sad or angry, music can cheer me up,” she says. “Music is so much more. It can make you happy.”

Fellow graduate and drum player Luke Duregger, 12, says he loved the program so much he auditioned again this year and we’re proud to announce he made the cut.

“I really loved how the School of Rock helped kids develop skills to work as a team. It was great how the older kids really helped the younger kids,” he says.

“It was a great opportunity for students from other schools to come together to form a real rock band.”

The budding musicians will now sing, strum and drum their way to the grand end of year concert to be held in early-December.

Introducing the 2017 School of Rock students:

Ewan Argar, 11, vocals

Jasper Cunningam, 9, electric guitar

Luke Duregger, 12, drums

Ryan Greig, 13, guitar

Max Harford, 13, drums

Bella Haxton, 11, vocals

Tora Honeysett, 11, alto saxophone

Caitlin Hooper, 11, electric guitar

Zach Hughes, 14, electric guitar

John Hurren, 10, vocals

Zion Kendall, 9, drums

Eli Kenzler, 10, alto saxophone

Claire McAtee, 12, bass guitar

Rosey McKenzie, 11, vocals

Mia Morris, 11, tenor saxophone

Sophia Ryan, 12, keyboard

Juliette Samarcq, 10, keyboard

Shayla Sinclair, 13, electric guitar and vocals

Tom Whyatt, 12, bass guitar

Grace Wilson-Smith, 12, vocals and bass guitar

Read more articles by @joleneogle

Hashtag #InNoosaMag


So don't forget to tag us while your enjoying your holiday or getaway.